

SHARE GOD'S WORD SHOW GOD'S LOVE SERVE GOD'S WORLD

McFarland Lutheran Church Special Congregational Meeting Minutes Subject: Approval of the updated Constitution and Bylaws November 13, 2022

Call to Order

President Scott Potts called the meeting to order at 9:20 am. There were 46 in attendance.

Opening Prayer

Pastor Naomi led the members in prayer.

Explanation

Pastor Naomi thanked the members of the constitutional task force and in particular acknowledged John Zweig for his dedicated work on the constitution. She said that the changes in most of the chapters are required by the Synod and are not substantive. We have the authority to change chapters 10 through 13. The four major changes are (1) to allow pastors to vote on issues before the council, (2) to establish the number 50 to be considered a quorum of members at a congregational meeting, (3) a council member may serve two consecutive terms and (4) a standing nominating committee shall be established. Wayne Corey, who served on the constitutional task force explained the rationale for items 3 and 4.

Discussion

Several members had questions and comments. The president gave the microphone to each person speaking so that they could be heard.

Motion for the president

Jane Licht moved and John Booske seconded a motion to approve the Congregational Constitution and Bylaws for McFarland Lutheran Church as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Closing prayer and adjournment

Pastor Naomi led the members in a closing prayer. Meeting adjourned at 9:45 am.

Respectfully submitted, Jane Licht, Secretary